BJP registers a thumping victory in Mira Bhayander civic polls

Bigg Boss 11 Salman Khan is back with quirky neighbours

Bigg Boss 11 Salman Khan is back with quirky neighbours

The Shiv Sena finished second securing 22 seats, followed by the Congress Party with 10 and the other independent candidates got two seats. The results marked a sharp anti-climax in the NCP and the Congress fortunes-the NCP had won 26 seats in 2012 and the Congress 18. The biggest setback came to Sharad Pawar's NCP that failed to win a single seat. "In a tweet he wrote", MiraBhayander Municipal Election has been won by BJP, hope now Sena will respect CM Fadnavis and PM Modi". Meanwhile, the chief minister said the victory of the BJP would bring speedy development to the area.The win is another feather in the cap for Fadnavis, who has led the BJP to multiple victories in civic body elections in Maharashtra. To be sure, the Sena gained 7 seats over its 2012 tally of 15, but it failed to score over the BJP in a straight fight yet again.

BJP bagged a whopping 62 out of the 95 seats, according to the results announced by the election commission after counting of votes today.

According to IE report, the BJP contested for 90 seats while four seats had been given to RPI.

Maharashtra chief minister Devendra Fadnavis took to Twitter to congratulate the party. Amid heavy rains, MBMC went to polls on Sunday, 20 August, and recorded around 47 per cent turnout.

This is the third municipal election in the Mumbai Metropolitan Region (MMR) where BJP has received an absolute majority.

BJP's Mumbai unit chief Ashish Shelar was more direct in his attack on the Shiv Sena, saying that poll after poll in the state are a demonstration of the BJP's rise and they showed the real power of "those who have illusions about their strength". Moreover, Shiv Sena had fielded candidates in all the seats, Congress in 75 and NCP in 67. In KDMC, the first two-and-half-years will have Sena representative as the mayor of the municipal corporation, and then a BJP representative will take over as the mayor for the rest of the term.