De Grasse wins 200m to book Diamond League finals spot

De Grasse wins 200m to book Diamond League finals spot

De Grasse wins 200m to book Diamond League finals spot

Nigeria's former queen of the track Blessing Okagbare-Ighoteguonor (11.03 seconds) came from behind to finish fourth in the 100m event at the IAAF Diamond League meeting in Rabat yesterday evening.

Moroccan rising star Soufiane El-Bakkali claimed the men's 3,000 metres steeplechase in a personal best of 8:05.12.

Jamaican Rio Olympic sprint sensation Elaine Thompson accounted for the 100-metre women's meeting record at the Diamond League meeting in Rabat, Morocco on Sunday with a 10.87 clocking. Poland's Pawel Wojciechowski won with a jump of 5.85.

The Bahamian runner finished well clear of American pair Natasha Hastings and Quanera Hayes, who clocked 50.86 and 51.08 respectively, with South Africa's world and Olympic 800m champion Caster Semenya finishing seventh in a season's best of 51.53.

Also, reigning world champion Shawn Barber of Toronto was fourth in pole vault, clearing 5.60 metres. Nijel Amos of Botswana wins in the time of 1.43.91.

In a race billed as the battle of the Olympic champions, 400m medalist in Rio de Janeiro a year ago Shaunae Miller-Uibo once again showed why she is the athlete to beat in the single lap event, running a blistering time of 49.80s, more than a second ahead of Americans Natasha Hastings (50.86) and Quenera Hayes (51.08).

Jamaica's shot put World Championships bronze medallist O'Dayne "Flintstone" Richards, will try to break the recent dominance of America's Rio champion Ryan Crouser, who will be hunting his 10th-straight victory in the shot put.

World and Olympic triple jump champion Caterine Ibarguen finished well clear of a field that didn't include the 21-year-old Venezuelan who beat her at last month's Rome Diamond League meeting, Yulimar Rojas. Completing the field are American Cassandra Tate, Eilidh Doyle of Great Britain, two-time World champion Zuzana Hejnova of the Czech Republic, Sara Slott Petersen and Lea Sprunger of Switzerland.

In the men's high jump, Ukrainian Andriy Protsenko won with a leap of 2.27 metres. He was pleased with his run, but has yet to go under 20 seconds this season.

The Olympic silver medalist stormed home in 20.03 seconds ahead of American Ameer Webb (20.18) and Britain's Zharnel Hughes (20.22).